Skip to content

Dean’s List

February 24, 2012

Good morning my dear friends and readers!

As I undertake a new book to review and share with you, my valuable audience, I find I am surprised at how much this book has changed my life already.

Book case, chair, interesting furniture, book lover, love

This chair MUST be in my house!

Now, for those of you who are unfamiliar, I am an undergraduate student who will be finished with my first degree in May of this year. Dean’s List (look for the book review in weeks coming) has made an impression on me in the first six pages. I firmly believe that lovers of books and reading have a relationship with the books they read and the concepts contained therein. Therefore, there is always an internal dialogue between myself and the book. In layman’s terms, when I read I also think, so there are constantly two trains running on two tracks.

John Bader wrote this book to help students make the new, and sometimes scary, transition from high school to college student a less traumatic experience. However, as I being my own journey with him, I am amazed at how much I have learned about my future after college. I have been enlightened by some of this thoughts during the introduction and it has made me consider what my life will be like after I graduate. Sure, I do not know where I will work or precisely every detail of what I want to do. But, in reading the first few pages, I have discovered some thoughts on things that I would at least like to consider making certain that I attempt to include in my daily life after I receive my degree.

Some of those things are for personal development and some are for professional development; some are even just for fun or to fulfill family values I hold. The fact of the matter is, I do not know what will happen to me in the next six months and Bader’s book has already provided me some clarity on how to decide things that are important to me and how to integrate them in my life.

As a side note:  I notice that I have these enlightening thoughts either early in the morning when I blog and catch up on my social media and emails, or later at night when I blog, catch up, and/ or shower (those long hot showers are GREAT for thinking caps)! If you have writer’s block or have some personal issues you need to work through alone, the shower is a great place to do it. If you have general life confusion, I suggest reading or writing a blog. It always helps me sort through life if I have other people’s perspectives – even if their perspectives do not pertain to my current life question.

relationship, book lover, reading

This makes me happy 🙂

HOW DO YOU SORT THROUGH THE CONFUSION OF LIFE?

HOW DO YOU HANDLE THE PERSONAL ISSUES IN YOUR LIFE?

WHAT DO YOU DO FOR WRITER’S BLOCK?

Leave a Comment

Voice My Opinion!

