Skip to content

Peaceable Kingdom Internship

January 31, 2012

This is the second time I am writing this post, so I am slightly irked, currently. The content mysteriously vanished when I clicked “Preview” a few minutes ago. I had over 2 hours into this blog post.

I have over 60 hours into this internship since December. I have learned so much from these experiences so far, and I am looking forward to learning more. I just wanted to share a little bit with you all. If you would like to read the extended version of my progress, please visit my Google Portfolio listed on the right hand side of this page.

I have made many phone calls, some to politically involved individuals, all of them terrifying and exciting! I am not opposed to making networking phone calls, but when you know you are on the phone with an important individual, it can be nerve-racking; especially when the conversation goes something like this:

“Hi, my name is Britany and I am a senior business student at Moravian College. I am interning with Peaceable Kingdom, and my job is to help them raise funds for a new location because they are losing their lease. Can I tell you more about the programs I am setting up/ invite you to our public events/ ask you for a donation to support the cause?”

I am thankful that most people are gracious, even in rejection. I have spoken to political people, executives of companies, the general public, and peers in my networking efforts to raise funds. I am working to design programs specifically for school groups to participate in, as well as structuring internship positions to remain in place at the end of my internship. I have done research into grant writing, nonprofit management and financial budgeting, as well as cost analysis and general business structure.

I cannot begin to tell you all the things that I am learning within the realm of helping Peaceable Kingdom reach their goals. All of it pertains to things I have learned in class. Many people pursuing education question the value of information and concepts learned in class; they wonder how it applies to the real world. Well, I can attest to the fact that all of the information is important and, in fact, foundational to any kind of management or effective planning in business. All of my experiences in interviewing individuals, to requesting donations and volunteer help, to public relations; all of it is valuable and helpful to me and my goals.

My efforts also benefit Peaceable Kingdom in many ways. My partner, Rachel, and I are working very hard to raise funds for the shelter, as well as designing programs for fundraisers and supply drives, we are also planning events to hold in public and donate the proceeds to the shelter. We are also making efforts to raise awareness of the shelter, their efforts, and to get more volunteers for them in general. I am also independently working on drafting internship structures for future students interested in undertaking similar projects, and a business plan for the short-term at the shelter.

Saturday, we had an article published in the local paper, the Express Times. You can view that article here. We have been fielding calls all weekend from people willing to send donations and host independent fundraisers and send the proceeds to the shelter. We have also been contacted by WZZO radio station to request a press release they can publicize on their air waves for the next month. We are learning a lot about public relations and publicity, as well as marketing techniques and business concepts in application. Let me tell you a little more about the shelter.

Peaceable Kingdom is a no-kill animal shelter focused mainly on providing low-cost spay and neuter services for the local community. Their aim is to prevent overpopulation and consequent abandonment and abuse of companion animals in the community by providing these services. They also place pets in forever homes if they have been abandoned or their people cannot keep them anymore. You should visit their website to learn more about the shelter and their efforts! Click here! You can read more details about my specific progress at my Google Portfolio online. The link is on the top bar of this page.

If you would like to make a direct donation, click here. If you follow this link, please note somewhere that the donation is a result of the internship! We are attempting to track the amount we receive as a result of our efforts for Peaceable Kingdom!

Together, we can make a difference. Together, we can give these animals another CHANCE!

Community Hearts Are Never Close Enough!

Leave a Comment

Voice My Opinion!

